For information about remaining Crossrail construction works visit our Near You interactive map. For information about the Elizabeth line please visit the Transport for London website.

Crossrail Board appointments

By Peter MacLennan

Crossrail Limited today provided an update on appointments to the Crossrail Board.

  • Current Non-Executive Director Pam Alexander OBE has been re-appointed to the Board until 30 June 2018.
  • Current Non-Executive Director Michael Cassidy CBE has been re-appointed to the Board until 30 June 2018.
  • Current Non-Executive Director Terry Hill CBE has been re-appointed to the Board until 30 June 2018.

The Crossrail project is being delivered by Crossrail Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London (TfL), and is jointly sponsored by the Department for Transport and TfL. The route will pass through 40 stations from Reading and Heathrow in the west, through new twin-bore 21 km tunnels to Shenfield and Abbey Wood in the east. The new railway will be named the Elizabeth line when services through central London open in December 2018.

Pam Alexander OBE

Pam Alexander has a range of leadership roles in the public, private and charitable sectors. Pam is currently Chair of the Covent Garden Market Authority, leading the major redevelopment at Nine Elms and a non-executive Director of Crest Nicholson plc, a major house builder, and of the Future Cities Catapult. She is a Trustee of the Design Council and Chair of Design Council Cabe.   Pam was recently appointed to the Mayor of London’s Cultural Leadership Board, chairs the Nine Elms Cultural Steering Group and sits on New London Architecture’s Sounding Board.

Pam was Chief Executive of the South East England Development Agency (SEEDA) from 2004 to 2011, where she led large economic development and regeneration projects. Previously she was Chief Executive of English Heritage, Deputy Chief Executive of the Housing Corporation and a senior civil servant in the Department of the Environment. From 2004 to 2009 she also chaired the Peabody Trust.

Michael Cassidy CBE

Michael Cassidy has been a practising lawyer in the City of London for 40 years, dealing mainly with investment matters for a large UK Pension Fund. He is Chairman of Askonas Holt Ltd, a leading artist management company in the classical music business, and Chairman of the new Ebbsfleet Urban Development Corporation.

He has been Leader of the Corporation of London, Planning Chairman, and Chairman of the City Corporation’s Property Investment Board.  He was also Chairman of the Barbican Arts Centre and the Museum of London and non-executive director of UBS Ltd.  He was awarded a CBE for services to the City in 2004.

Terry Hill CBE

Terry Hill has delivered major economic infrastructure across the world. He has expertise in project creation, funding advice, project management and implementation of transport infrastructure and has experience in the energy sector.

Most of his career has been spent with Arup Group. He was previously its Executive Chairman and Chairman of its owning Trusts, and remains a Trustee. He has served on the Advisory Council of Infrastructure UK, the Nuclear Development Forum and the Commission for Integrated Transport. He is Chairman of the Transport Systems Catapult supporting innovation.

His earlier career started on the design and construction of motorways and work in the UK, Middle East and Africa. This was followed by a significant period developing a transport strategy for London, creating transport assessment models and also his central role in the creation of a special purpose vehicle for the delivery of  the UK’s first high speed railway, the £6 billion High Speed 1. He was awarded a CBE in 2010.

Crossrail Board Membership

Membership of the Crossrail Board is as follows:

  • Sir Terry Morgan CBE, Chairman
  • Andrew Wolstenholme OBE, Chief Executive
  • Simon Wright OBE, Programme Director
  • Mathew Duncan, Finance Director
  • Pam Alexander OBE
  • Michael Cassidy CBE
  • Phil Gaffney
  • Terry Hill CBE
  • Robert Jennings CBE (Department for Transport nominee)
  • Mark Wild (Transport for London nominee)