Cookies on the Crossrail website

We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Crossrail website.

Find out why we use cookies and how to manage your settings.

Members and governance

Programme Members and contributors

Crossrail’s innovation programme provides a platform to exchange ideas and share knowledge across a diverse community. 

Innovate18 connects directly with members, Tier 1 contractors and academia.  Our membership base is made up of some of the biggest names in UK construction, including:

  • Alstom
  • Balfour Beatty
  • Bam Nuttal
  • Comit
  • Costain
  • Dragados
  • Ferrovial 
  • Hochtief
  • Kier
  • Lafarge Tarmac
  • Laing O’Rourke
  • Morgan Sindall
  • Murphy
  • Skanska
  • Vinci

Innovate18 connects indirectly with representative bodies (such as the Institution of Civil Engineers and the Construction Leadership Council), government bodies (such as Catapult, and Innovate UK), industry bodies, start-ups, and large multinational businesses and organisations from other industries.

Team Structure and Governance

At the heart of this community is a small team of specialists who act as catalysts; coordinating ideas and brokering relationships to encourage deeper collaboration across the community and nurture a culture of innovation.

The central team is supported by a working group chaired by Crossrail’s Strategic Projects Director. 

The working group is made up of innovation experts from industry members. Collectively, the team and working group are responsible for evaluating competition entries and recommending category winners to the Crossrail Innovation Forum. 

The Crossrail Innovation Forum is the executive level group that provides strategic direction to Innovatate18 on governance and funding of the programme. It is chaired by one of the Crossrail Non-Executive Directors and is attended by the CEO, Programme Director and Technical Director.