Cookies on the Crossrail website

We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Crossrail website.

Find out why we use cookies and how to manage your settings.



The nine artists who have made public artworks for the new Elizabeth line stations, designed and built by Crossrail, builds upon the philosophy of putting art at the centre of the capital’s transport system to enhance the passenger experience.

Crossrail commissions from Spencer Finch, Darren Almond, Douglas Gordon, Richard Wright, Simon Periton, Yayoi Kusama, Conrad Shawcross, Chantal Joffe and Michal Rovner have all been developed and created in close collaboration with Crossrail engineers and architects.

The results are a series of works that are both physically and conceptually integrated into the fabric of each new below-ground station, and often make a point in referencing aspects of the station’s location within the city.

Artists and Artwork

Identifying and selecting artists of suitable calibre was a multi-stranded process that involved working with both the commercial and public sectors.

In reflection of London’s role as an international art centre, each new station was partnered with a leading and often local gallery who, in collaboration with Crossrail’s art team, drew upon an initial longlist from the artists they represented (the exception to this was Whitechapel station whose long list was made in association with Whitechapel Gallery). Next, specialist advisory panels made up of independent curators and art experts as well as Crossrail representatives, whittled these down to a shortlist of three to four artists per station.

The shortlisted artists were approached to develop a proposal in close association with Crossrail and the station architects. Following a technical evaluation of each of the proposals, the advisory panel reconvened to select the final project to recommend to the Crossrail Art Foundation.