Cookies on the Crossrail website

We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Crossrail website.

Find out why we use cookies and how to manage your settings.

Crossrail announces design awards for central stations

A further landmark has been reached today, in Europe's largest construction project, with Crossrail announcing its intention to award a set of contracts for detailed design services for three tunnel portals and four of the central stations under its framework agreements.

The contracts in this set are as follows:

Package C154 - Victoria Dock Portal - Hyder
Package C156 - North Woolwich and Plumstead Portals - Capita Symonds
Package C132 - Bond Street Station - WSP
Package C130 - Paddington Station - Scott Wilson
Package C138 - Liverpool Street Station - Mott MacDonald
Package C140 - Whitechapel Station - Hyder

Under the Crossrail Design Framework Agreements announced in December 2008, the selected firms for each of the seven design categories have the opportunity to compete for packages of design work on the project.

Dr Graham Plant, Programme Director at Crossrail said: "With the latest announcement Crossrail has reached a major milestone in the detailed design process, as the designs for Crossrail stations along the central route will play a key role in delivering a world-class affordable railway. We look forward to working closely with each of these companies."


For further information:
Alick Whitfield, Crossrail Press Office, 020 3229 9552
[email protected]

Notes for Editors

Crossrail announced 12 firms had secured Design Framework Agreements in December 2008. In all there are seven design categories.

The chosen firms have the opportunity to compete for packages of design work on the Crossrail project, including work on tunnels and shafts, stations, and railway systems.

Secondary competitions are subject to the normal Crossrail procurement procedures.

The 12 firms are: Aedas Group Ltd, Atkins Ltd, BDP Ltd, Capita Symonds Ltd, Halcrow Group Ltd, Hyder Consulting (UK) Ltd, Jacobs Engineering U.K. Ltd, Mott MacDonald Ltd, Ove Arup & Partners International Ltd, Parsons Brinckerhoff Ltd, Scott Wilson Railways Ltd, and WSP UK Limited.

The design contracts announced prior to today are:

• Package C150 - Royal Oak Portal - Capita Symonds Ltd
• Package C121 - Sprayed Concrete Lining - Mott MacDonald
• Package C122 - Bored Tunnels - Ove Arup & Partners International Ltd
• Package C134 - Tottenham Court Road Station - Ove Arup & Partners International Ltd
• Package C100 - Architectural Component Design - Atkins
• Package C152 - Pudding Mill Lane Portal - Scott Wilson
• Package C124 - Tunnels and Shafts Aerodynamics and Ventilation - Mott MacDonald
• Package C136 - Farringdon Station Design - Scott Wilson
• Package C123 - Intermediate Shafts - Jacobs
• Package C164 - Bulk Power Distribution & HV Power - Scott Wilson
• Package C175 - Tunnelling Academy Design - Capita Symonds
• Package C125 - M&E in Tunnels - Mott MacDonald
• Package C162 - Signalling, traction power OHLE and platform screen doors - Mott MacDonald

About Crossrail
Crossrail will run 118 km from Maidenhead and Heathrow in the west, through new twin-bore 21 km tunnels under central London to Shenfield and Abbey Wood in the east. It will bring an additional 1.5 million people within 60 minutes commuting distance of London's key business districts. When Crossrail opens it will increase London's public transport network capacity by 10 per cent, supporting regeneration across the capital, helping to secure London's position as a world leading financial centre, and cutting journey times across the city.

Preparatory works will continue throughout 2009. Main Crossrail construction starts in 2010. Crossrail is scheduled to open for service in 2017.

The Crossrail Act received Royal Assent on 22 July 2008, granting the powers to build the railway, and Crossrail construction began on 15 May 2009 with work commencing at the new Crossrail Canary Wharf station. The main construction programme begins along the route in 2010.

Since then, Crossrail has been moving rapidly ahead and progress includes:

• Terry Morgan appointed Chairman, effective 1 June 2009
• Rob Holden became Chief Executive from 1 April 2009
• Appointment of Transcend as Crossrail Programme Partner
• Appointment of Bechtel Limited as Crossrail Project Delivery Partner
• Compulsory Purchase Notices issued and property acquired at Tottenham Court Road
• Tender issued for £500m London Underground works at Tottenham Court Road. The shortlist of companies has invited to tender was announced on 10 July, 2009. The contract for the Crossrail works at Tottenham Court Road will be advertised at a later date
• Signing of funding agreements signed with BAA, City of London and Canary Wharf Group
• Crossrail is promoted by Crossrail Limited (CRL). CRL is a wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London.