Cookies on the Crossrail website

We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Crossrail website.

Find out why we use cookies and how to manage your settings.

Crossrail Board appointments

By Peter MacLennan

Crossrail Limited today provided an update on appointments to the Crossrail Board. 

Jayne McGivern has been appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director for a three-year term from 1 September 2014.

Current Non-Executive Board member, Terry Hill CBE, has been re-appointed for a further three-year term until 31 August 2017.

Current Non-Executive Board member, Phil Gaffney, has been re-appointed for a further three-year term until 31 March 2017.

Heather Rabbatts CBE stepped-down from the Board on 12 August 2014 when her second three-year term expired.

Ian Brown CBE will step-down from the Board when his current three-year term expires on 30 September 2014.

Simon Wright OBE joined Crossrail as Programme Director and member of the Crossrail Board on 14 July 2014 following the departure of Andy Mitchell.

Crossrail Chairman Terry Morgan CBE said: “Crossrail is now over halfway to completion and is being delivered on time and within its £14.8bn funding envelope. The appointment of Jayne McGivern to the Crossrail Board will provide invaluable property and regeneration expertise as we move forward with developments above stations and urban realm improvements.

“I would like to thank Heather Rabbatts and Ian Brown for their important contribution to Crossrail.”

When Crossrail opens in 2018, it will increase London's rail-based transport network capacity by 10 per cent and dramatically cut journey times across the city, bringing an extra 1.5m people to within 45 minutes of central London.


For further information contact the Crossrail Press Office on 020 3229 9552 or email [email protected]

Notes to Editors

Jayne McGivern

Jayne is an experienced CEO in the property industry, specialising in the creation and delivery of high value mixed use and regeneration schemes of national importance. 

Her former roles include CEO (Europe) of Multiplex plc and Managing Director of Anschutz Entertainment Group in London during its acquisition and redevelopment of the O2 Arena. She currently runs Red Grouse, her small private property investment vehicle and is a member of the Board of the London Legacy Development Corporation. Jayne is a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.

Terry Hill CBE

Terry Hill has delivered major economic infrastructure across the world. He has expertise in project creation, funding advice, project management and implementation of transport infrastructure and has experience in the energy sector. Most of his career has been spent with Arup Group. He was previously its Executive Chairman and Chairman of its owning Trusts, and remains a Trustee. He has served on the Advisory Council of Infrastructure UK, the Nuclear Development Forum and the Commission for Integrated Transport. He is now the President of the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO).

His earlier career started on the design and construction of motorways and work in the UK, Middle East and Africa. This was followed by a significant period developing a transport strategy for London, creating transport assessment models and also his central role in the creation of a special purpose vehicle for the delivery of  the UK’s first high speed railway, the £6 billion High Speed 1. He was awarded a CBE in 2010.

Phil Gaffney

Phil Gaffney retired from Hong Kong MTR Corporation Ltd. as Managing Director – Operations and Business Development in 2005. After initial training as a Signalling Engineer with British Railways and positions in Scotland and London, Phil Gaffney moved to Hong Kong MTR in 1977.

During 28 years with Hong Kong MTR he held various engineering positions and as Operations Director, from 1998 to 2003, he formulated and implemented a major initiative to improve reliability to the railway and reduce operational costs. From 2003 until his departure in December 2005, Phil was responsible for the development and implementation of MTR's international business. In January 2006, he was appointed as a non-executive director of Irish Railways and in 2011 he was appointed as Non Executive Chairman of Irish Railways. Phil provides strategic advisory services to a number international railway authorities and companies.

Simon Wright OBE

Simon Wright OBE is Crossrail’s Programme Director and was previously Project Development Director at Network Rail where he led the programme for the multi-billion pound redevelopment of Euston station in collaboration with HS2 Limited.

Prior to this he was responsible for the development and delivery of all Infrastructure and Utilities programmes for the Olympic Park at Stratford. He also was responsible for systems integration, operational readiness and the Olympic Park and Athletes Village operations during the Olympic and Paralympic Games. He has worked for Arup where he ran the project management division in the UK and Europe and worked for a number of engineering consultants both in the UK and overseas. 

Crossrail Board Membership

Membership of the Crossrail Board from 1 October 2014 will be as follows:

  • Terry Morgan CBE, Chairman
  • Andrew Wolstenholme OBE, Chief Executive
  • Simon Wright OBE, Programme Director
  • David Allen, Finance Director
  • Michael Cassidy CBE
  • Phil Gaffney
  • Terry Hill CBE
  • Robert Jennings CBE (Department for Transport nominee)
  • Jayne McGivern
  • Daniel Moylan (Transport for London nominee)

About Crossrail:

The total funding envelope available to deliver Crossrail is £14.8bn. The Crossrail route will pass through 40 stations and run from Reading and Heathrow in the west, through new twin-bore 21 km (13 miles) tunnels to Shenfield and Abbey Wood in the east.

When Crossrail opens it will increase London's rail-based transport network capacity by 10%, supporting regeneration and cutting journey times across the city. Crossrail services are due to commence through central London in 2018.

Crossrail is being delivered by Crossrail Limited (CRL). CRL is a wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London. Crossrail is jointly sponsored by the Department for Transport and Transport for London.