Cookies on the Crossrail website

We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Crossrail website.

Find out why we use cookies and how to manage your settings.

Crossrail Board appointments

By Peter MacLennan

Crossrail Limited today provided an update on appointments to the Crossrail Board.

  • Crossrail Technical Director Chris Sexton was appointed to the Crossrail Board on 1 April 2018
  • Andy Pitt has been appointed to the Crossrail Board as a Department for Transport nominated Non-Executive Director from 1 July 2018 until 1 September 2019
  • Transport for London Board members Anne McMeel and Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE have been appointed to the Crossrail Board as TfL nominated Non-Executive Directors from 1 July 2018 until 1 September 2019
  • Current Non-Executive Directors Pam Alexander OBE, Michael Cassidy CBE and Terry Hill CBE will step down at the end of their current term on 30 June 2018. Michael Cassidy CBE will continue to advise the Crossrail Board on issues relating to the City of London and the Crossrail Art Programme. 

Sir Terry Morgan CBE, Crossrail Chairman, said: “These governance arrangements support the transition of the railway to Transport for London and the opening of the Elizabeth line. I would like to thank Pam Alexander, Michael Cassidy and Terry Hill for their dedicated service and contribution to the Crossrail project over many years.

“Construction of the Elizabeth line is now in its final stages. Testing of new trains and infrastructure is underway and continues alongside the remaining fit-out of the stations. Later this year, the first completed infrastructure will be handed over to Transport for London, who will lead the trial operations phase. The Crossrail Board will oversee the remaining programme through to 2019 when the project concludes.”

The Elizabeth line is being delivered by Crossrail Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London (TfL), and is jointly sponsored by the Department for Transport and TfL.

Crossrail Board Membership

Membership of the Crossrail Board from 1 July 2018 will be as follows:

  • Sir Terry Morgan CBE, Chairman
  • Simon Wright OBE, Chief Executive & Programme Director
  • Mathew Duncan, Finance Director
  • Chris Sexton, Technical Director
  • Robert Jennings CBE (Department for Transport nominee)
  • Andy Pitt (Department for Transport nominee)
  • Anne McMeel (Transport for London nominee)
  • Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE (Transport for London nominee)
  • Mark Wild (Transport for London nominee)
  • Phil Gaffney, independent non-executive director

Chris Sexton

Chris Sexton joined Crossrail in 2010 as Technical Director. His accountabilities include engineering, integration, technical information, sustainability, quality and assurance. Chris joined Crossrail from Laing O'Rourke where he was Head of Engineering for the European business. His first career was in the Royal Engineers. His final military role was Chief Engineer of the Army, responsible for the UK’s military engineering capability worldwide.

Andy Pitt

Andy Pitt is a business leader with over 30 years’ experience in the rail sector. He is currently Executive Chairman of Cross London Trains Limited which is procuring and leasing a new generation train fleet to the operator of the Thameslink franchise. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Porterbrook Leasing Company Limited, which leases trains to several UK rail operators, and of the Transport Systems Catapult which promotes innovation in transport. Prior to this from 1997 until 2012 he was a key Executive within Stagecoach and South West Trains. He led rail business development and franchise bids for Stagecoach. Andy was Managing Director for the South West Trains franchise from 2009 to 2012 and in this period South West Trains achieved its highest level of punctuality and equalled its highest level of customer satisfaction while the cost base was reduced. In his earlier career he worked for British Rail in a variety of roles.

Anne McMeel

Anne McMeel is a Member of the Board of Transport for London and Chairs its Audit and Assurance Committee and serves on its Finance Committee. Anne is a Member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy and has held posts at the former Greater London Council, Inner London Education Authority and the London Borough of Enfield before becoming the Director of Finance at the London Borough of Sutton. In 2001 she joined the newly created GLA as its first Director of Finance and Performance before moving to the Metropolitan Police Service in 2007 as its Director of Resources until 2012.

Since 2013 she has been pursuing her interests in cultural activities and travelling and using her skills in new environments, including as adviser to KBR and in non-executive positions on the Keech Hospice Care Board, the MoD Police Committee and the Arts Council Performance and Audit Committee.

Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE 

Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE is a Member of the Board of Transport for London and is the Vice Chair of its Programmes and Investment Committee and serves on its Audit and Assurance Committee and its Customer Service and Operational Performance Panel. Nelson is currently the President and CEO of Association for Consultancy and Engineering (ACE). He co-chaired the National Infrastructure Plan Strategic Engagement Forum (NIPEF) and was appointed by the GLA as a member of the London Infrastructure Delivery Board. He chairs the Investment Committee of ARM-Harith Infrastructure Investment Funds (PE) and has over 30 years' experience in planning, finance, delivery and management of major property and infrastructure investment projects.

Nelson has a BSc in Civil Engineering from Aston, MSc in Construction and Programme Management from Birmingham and a MBA in Strategic Management & Corporate Finance from Aston, where he is also Royal Academy of Engineer Visiting Professor on Infrastructure Investment. He is a Fellow Member of the Institution of Civil Engineers, Companion of Chartered Institute of Management CEDR Accredited Mediator and Member of Chartered Institute of Arbitrations.