Cookies on the Crossrail website

We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Crossrail website.

Find out why we use cookies and how to manage your settings.

Douglas Oakervee awarded ICE 2008 Gold Medal

By Crossrail Press Office

Douglas Oakervee, Executive Chairman of Cross London Rail Links, the delivery company for Crossrail, today received the prestigious Institution of Civil Engineers 2008 Gold Medal.

The Gold Medal is the highest honour that the Institution can bestow. It has been awarded to Mr Oakervee in recognition of five decades of outstanding contribution to the civil engineering profession around the world and to the ICE itself. Mr Oakervee was the 139th President of the Institution in 2003-04.

Commenting on the award, Mr Oakervee said: "I am deeply honoured to receive the Gold Medal from the Institution. Civil engineering and construction have been my life and passion for over fifty years. To be recognised in such a way by my peers is one of the proudest moments in my career."

Mr Oakervee was presented with the Gold Medal at a ceremony held at the Institution of Civil Engineers in London by David Orr, current ICE President.


Media enquiries:

Crossrail Press Office: 020 3229 9552

Notes for Editors

1. Douglas Oakervee OBE, FREng, CEng, FICE, FIMechE, FICES, FHKIE, FASCE, FFB, is the Executive Chairman of Cross London Rail Links Limited (CLRL). Mr Oakervee is one of the country's most distinguished civil engineers, with vast international experience in the successful delivery of major projects. Formerly, he oversaw the construction of the new Hong Kong airport, and was elected as the 139th President of the Institution of Civil Engineers in 2003.

2. Mr Oakervee was appointed CLRL Executive Chairman in December 2005. Under Mr Oakervee's leadership Crossrail obtained its £15.9 billion funding package and the Crossrail Bill completed its parliamentary process, attaining Royal Assent in July 2008.